3mrbygefrjtqpx8ybgvc?1485257533



Testing a Course

It's worth noting that if you attempt to test the course in an 'admin' type of role then you won't be seeing the course and having the same experience, as a real end user would

For Example, time locked courses would allow you to progress through them without the time locking coming into play.Linear-courses would behave as non-linear courses allowing you to progress in any order.

Sometime this is acceptable as you only wish to test how something appears and not necessarily the whole process.

However, if you want to test the end-user experience we advise using a Test User to undertake the course.

Create a Test User for one of your other email addresses, in the same way that you would create any other user and enroll the test user onto the relevant course.

Log out as an admin and log in as the Test User and test and take notes as you go.

Log out as the Test User, log in as the admin, and make the changes you want to make.

The advantage to this approach is that it is quick and you're not reliant on anybody else, however as you designed the course you'll have an inherent knowledge of the platform and the structure, so you're not really getting a typical end users perspective.

We also recommending getting others to help you with the testing. Create separate user accounts and be sure to delete them when testing is complete.

Once you have tested your course it is advisable to reset any progress that your Test User(s) have made in order to have a clean slate for when the course commences (you may also find it useful to do this whilst the testing is taking place should you have to make any significant changes during the testing)

 

NOTE - Resetting a User's progress will reset their comments,replies,votes, UGC contributions,XPs, level progress and object views..

In order to reset a User's progress:

 

  • Click on 'Courses' from the Admin Dashboard
  • Select the Course that you have been testing
  • Click on 'Enrollments'
  • Click on 'View All'
  • Search for your Test User
  • Click on the 'Reset user progress' button (bin icon)